cds in my living room, part ii

Right about now, there are CDs in my living room.  Boxes of them, I’m sure.

In 1992, I was told that Dromedary wouldn’t be a “real” record label until I had boxes of CDs in my living room.  It was sort of a rallying cry for the handful of us that started the label back then, and continued to be that way.  It was silly, but it was also a tangible sort of thing that we could use, to illustrate our “realness.”  I wrote about it in this blog, often, throughout 2009.

When we re-launched Dromedary in January, we started with Footstone’s “Wobbles” seven-incher, and made it a free digital download with a third song.

When we reissued Footstone’s Lippy in February, we put out a digital version of it, but I still had plenty of CDs left over from 1994 to handle the whopping half-dozen or so orders that we’ve gotten for that particular title.

When we did the Haiti benefit compilation Make The Load Lighter: Indie Rock For Haiti, we never made any CDs, as the idea was to get something out there quickly, with little to no cost.  No physical CDs.

When we reissued Cuppa Joe’s Nurture we did it digital-only.  No physical copies.  And when we did FRC’s I Am Spartacus, we took some already-pressed CDs on consignment from the band.  By that time we had sort of decided that if the band wasn’t together – if all they could do was a reunion show, and the occasional “new” recording – then we couldn’t treat the record as if it was brand-new.  It just wouldn’t sell enough to justify the cost.

When The Mommyheads’ Flying Suit came out, I made a short run of CDs – just a hundred – to be used as promos and to sell on our website.  The demand for physical CDs wasn’t enormous – just strong enough that it made sense to press up a few, for the journalists that insisted on a physical copy and for the fans that felt the same way.  But with 100 CDs, it just didn’t feel like a huge inventory of records.  Plus, it’s a record we’d already released (although the 2010 version is remastered, with three bonus tracks, with different artwork, so it isn’t quite the same title).

Stuyvesant’s Jihad Me At Hello is a free, digital download.  So even though there’s some unreleased, new stuff on there, you can’t actually buy a physical CD of it.

This morning the UPS guy showed up at my dayjob with a tiny box containing one CD of the Mommyheads’ Finest Specimens CD.  This is the first new title that we’ve done, where we’ve actually produced a quantity of physical copies.  I opened the box and found one beautiful, perfectly printed and shrink-wrapped copy of the CD.  I took it out of the box and played it from start-to-finish in my office.

It sounded great.

And then I realized that UPS, in addition to delivering a bunch of CDs to the radio and press promo firms we’re using, delivered the balance to the house.

Which means there are CDs in the living room.

FUCK yeah.  That feels good.

I sent Adam a sappy email.  I love those guys.  And I’m so thrilled that I get to put out their music again.  I listened to the track “Work” in my office – that’s going to be the single we push beginning in October – and I thought In a perfect world, this song would be huge.

Even though its not a perfect world, my world is pretty fuckin’ perfect right now.

~ by Al on September 17, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
