an adventure at flipside.

Flipside Records was a store in western New Jersey – Pompton Plains, I believe – that was the closest “cool” record store to where we lived.  Once in a while, I’d go and shop there, and pick up some records.

I had seen that Flatus, the New Jersey punk band that played down the shore with Footstone earlier that year, had a new seven-inch out, and I wanted to pick up a copy.  They had covered “The Kids Are Allright” at that show, and since I had found myself getting more and more into The Who, I wanted to hear the recorded version, which appeared on the seven-inch.

The store had a very limited selection of seven-inches, strategically placed in a bin right in front of the checkout counter.  After browsing through their 12″ vinyl and CDs, I made my way over to the singles and flipped right to the letter “F.”  I found the Flatus record, made sure it was the right one, and put it under my arm.

Then I noticed what was right behind it in the stacks: the Wobbles From Side to Side 7″ by Footstone.

It wasn’t the first time I’d ever seen one of our records in a record store.  I had a friend who was a buyer at Tower Records in Paramus, and Nick from Dots Will Echo worked at the Borders record store in the same town – both made sure our records were in stock.  I had also seen our records at a few places in the City, and had placed a few in stores on consignment myself.  

But I picked up the record anyway.

“That is a great band,” I heard.

I looked up.  It was the guy behind the checkout counter.

“Really?” I asked.

“Really.  They’re, like, a punk band that’s accessible, but not in a cheesy, Green Day sort of way.  They really rock.”

“Really?” I asked again.

“They’re one of my favorite local bands.  You can’t go wrong, if you’re into pop/punk.”  He said it like “pop-punk,” but almost one word.  Poppunk, like the sound when you hit the open end of a piece of pipe.  Or the sound the inside of your head makes when your jaw hits the floor because some kid at the record store knows a band on your tiny label.

I was kind of giddy and goofy, and decided that it was totally self-serving and stupid and snobby for me to tell the kid that I owned the band’s record label.  So I just said “Okay,” and bought the record.

“You won’t be disappointed,” he said.  It was a three-dollar record, and he was talking about it like it was going to be the most important purchase I made all year.

I bought the record, and on the way home I called Ralph from my big, clunky cellphone and told him the story.  

“That’s really cool,” he said.  He didn’t seem as excited about it as me.  I guess he wouldn’t have been – he’s in the band; he’s got people telling them how good they are all the time.  So I called Sandy, who was nearly four months pregnant at the time and didn’t seem to care much, either.

So I just considered it to be a private victory, all my own.

I found out later that the record was sold to them by Surefire Distributors.  I loved those guys.

~ by Al on August 18, 2009.

4 Responses to “an adventure at flipside.”

  1. I don’t remember hearing about that one…that’s very cool.
    Rico

  2. After you told me that story, I made it my business to try to shop there more.

  3. Heh. I think that might have been the last time I ever shopped there. 🙂

  4. […] also shop at Flipside Records in Pompton Plains, site of one of the coolest Dromedary-related record store experiences I’d ever had.  At Flipside, I’d always try and pick up records from whatever local […]

Leave a Reply

 
