be what?

In the midst of my frustration, I decided to contact the one big indie distributor that I desperately wanted to work with, but never could.  The buyer always took my calls, he was always friendly, and he always said no.

I called him and told him what was going on with Flying Suit, and asked him if he wanted to place a small order.

“No, thanks,” he said.

“You know,” I continued, “when I called you about the Footstone seven-inch, you told me to call you when I had a CD.  When I called you about the cuppa joe CD, you told me to call you when I had a CD from a band that people knew.  Now I have the Mommyheads’ CD.  It’s a CD from a band that people know, and they’re in the middle of a US tour.”

“It’s just too difficult for us to pick up a small, one-off project from a tiny label and make it work for us,” he said.

“Every time we talk, there’s another step I have to climb before we can work together,” I said.  “Tell me, honestly.  What do I have to do in order to get you to carry my records?”

He was quiet for a second, and then he said “Be Matador.”

~ by Al on June 25, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
