i must respectfully decline.

Brief entry today – just “decline,” the second track from the nurture CD. I just think this is a great example of everything that was great about cuppa joe. Great pop melodies, interesting lyrical approach that was almost conversational in nature, nice interplay between the band members. The off-key harmonies and occasional instrumental mistake are almost beside the point; they simply add to the warmth and charm of the band. Whenever I hear this song, it’s stuck in my head for the rest of the day – and I mean that in the best possible way.

~ by Al on May 20, 2009.

One Response to “i must respectfully decline.”

  1. I worked one of many Shitty Dayjobs in 1994 or 1995, where a guy I worked with, upon finding out I played in an indie rock band, bought a copy for his sister who “liked that kind of music”. A week later, he told me she listened to it a few times. “What did she think?” I asked.

    I remember his mouth was full, but he just said, “Too many words.” “What?” I asked. “Mmmph…mmmmm… yeah, that second song… she said it had too many words.” Oooohh…

    When I listen to it now, I always think about how we doubled Doug’s lead vocals, but then left them out of the first verse to make the rest of the song feel like it was building. I didn’t like the idea – his voice always had a nice thick quality when it was doubled.

    Thanks for liking our imperfections. (I say that to my wife daily).

Leave a Reply

 
