pardon the interruption – dates and stuff.

I’m sort of a pack rat.  

After Dromedary crashed and burned I had an office filled with stuff – press clippings, ads, postcards, letters, invoices, magazine articles, zines, demo tapes, CDs, checks – all sorts of stuff.  Anything good, anything that had a memory attached to it, got saved.

Some of the stuff has dates on it.  That stuff is helping me piece together the when and where of this story.  

I also have a ridiculous memory for stupid things.  I can’t remember where I have to be this weekend, but I can remember specific discussions I had with people – where I was, who was there, what we talked about.  So when I piece together the copies of things that have dates, it triggers my memory of various events that happened, and discussions that occurred.

So far, it’s been pretty easy to piece events together chronologically.  I have demo tapes with dates written on them, dated correspondence and contracts, newspaper clippings – all dated.  

Beginning with the day after the release party, maybe two entries from now, some of the chronology is going to get fuzzier.  For instance, I know that somebody tried to break into our apartment in the spring of 1993.  I know that Sandy left her pocketbook in a rest stop on the Garden State Parkway on the way to visit Frank down the shore in the summer of 1993.  I know that Footstone recorded at Melting Hopefuls’ studio some time in 1993.  I know that Melting Hopefuls recorded with Kramer in the summer of 1993.  But it’s going to be a little tougher to piece the chronology of that sort of stuff together, and I’m sure I’m going to get some dates wrong when I tell those stories.

Similarly, I’m going to get some minor events and conversations wrong.  The specifics of how Rich met Lissette, for example, and when we all went to Maxwell’s together on the “day we were cool.”  The timing of when and how I met some of the bands and people who were to become my friends later on in the story – as well as the timing of when and how some of my friends became not my friends.  

I’ll try and stay as close to reality as I can, but understand that I may jump back and forth a bit, particularly in the 1993-1994 time frame, when things are a lot fuzzier – because a lot of stuff happened in a short amount of time.

Note that none of the story will be fiction, but some of it may require paraphrasing, leaving out names, or simply getting dates wrong.  

Thanks.

~ by Al on January 26, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
