the next package.

The next package was from a band called Footstone.  

The bio and letter that came with the tape, which I unfortunately no longer have, said they were a “groove-oriented” rock band with similarities to Aerosmith and Kenny Loggins.  

After the Radical Sole debacle, I almost threw the package right in the trash.  I thought better of it because my little record company had only received one pitiful demo tape, and I wasn’t quite in a position where I could be picky about what mail I opened.  Plus, you know, I’m obsessed with the mail.  So I popped the tape into the deck and sat back to listen.

It wasn’t half bad.  The band was tight, and the singer, to me, sounded like Michael Stipe.  I listened to the tape all the way through, then called Rich and invited him over to listen to it.

“It wasn’t what you were looking for, but at least it’s good,” he said.

He was right.  It wasn’t indie pop, it wasn’t punk, it wasn’t metal.  It was just straightforward rock.  But it was well-recorded, the musicianship was decent, and after listening to it, I felt like maybe there was a chance I’d find enough decent bands to put out a compilation.  I put the tape aside.

Here’s “Weave Among Us,” from that Footstone demo tape.

~ by Al on January 12, 2009.

2 Responses to “the next package.”

  1. […] The Next Package.  We get a demo tape from a band called […]

  2. […] The Next Package.  Receiving Footstone’s demo tape; probably the event that set the course for […]

Leave a Reply

 
